Moore County News

Follow Us On:

TSSAA releases new district and region alignments

Posted on Friday, November 11, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Moore County rivals Forrest, Community moving up in classification

11-11-16 TSSAA_logoLYNCHBURG, Tenn. — The Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) has released its district and region alignments for the 2017-21 sports calendars.

—In football, Moore County High School will be in Class A, Region 5, along with six other schools. The new Region 5A includes, Cornersville, Fayetteville City, Grace Christian Academy-Franklin, Huntland, Moore County, Mt. Pleasant and Richland. There are six classifications in football, split evenly across the state.

Both Summertown and Columbia Academy have moved up to Region 5-2A.

—In basketball, baseball and softball, there are three classifications.

Moore County is in Class A and will compete in District 8 within Region 4. There are 16 total districts within Class A.

Moore County is joined in District 8-A by Cascade, Cornersville, Eagleville, Fayetteville and Huntland. Across the aisle in Region 4 are a host of Nashville-area teams making up District 7. They include Dayspring Academy in White House; Grace Christian Academy-Franklin; KIPP Nashville Collegiate School; LEAD Academy in Nashville; Merrol Hyde Magnet School in Hendersonville; Republic High School in Nashville and STEM Prep Academy in Nashville.

Longtime MCHS rivals Community and Forrest have moved up a classification in basketball, baseball and softball and will be in Class AA beginning with the 2017 school year. They’ll compete in District 12 along with Giles County, Marshall County, Murfreesboro Central Magnet and Nolensville.

—Moore County’s golfers are now in the TSSAA “Small Division,” competing in the 12-team District 12. The schools in District 12 are Moore County, Collinwood, Cornersville, Fayetteville, Hampshire, Lewis County, Loretto, Mt. Pleasant, Perry County, Richland, Summertown and Wayne County.