Moore County News

Follow Us On:

This Thursday is Election Day

Posted on Tuesday, July 31, 2012 at 2:25 pm

The Moore County Election Commission reminds local voters that this Thursday, August 2 is Election Day in Moore County. Polls will open at 8 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

District polling locations are as follows: First District, the Moore County Courthouse; Second District, MCHS Commons Area; Third District, County Building; Fourth District, Moore County Public Library and Fifth District, Motlow College, Marcum Building, Room 105.

Three candidates qualified for the Assessor of Property office including Wayne Darin Harrison, Sandy C. Lewis and Shelia Parks Moore. Wayne Harrison the incumbent is not seeking re-election.

Two candidates qualified for County Road Superintendent including the incumbent, Milton Ferrell and Chris Bateman.

The incumbents in all three open Metro School Board members seats were the sole qualifiers. This included Richard Riddle from the second district, Ronnie Smith from the fourth district and Lori McKenzie from the fifth district.

Also Metro Council seats in the First District (Coleman March) and Fourth District (David Boyce, Linda Wolaver) are running unopposed.

Local voters will also cast ballots for U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, State Senate and State House of Representatives in the Republican and Democratic Primary Election. •