Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Raiderettes end season with a loss

Posted on Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Four Raiderettes were chosen by District 9A
coaches to receive All-District honors for their
play during the 2017 season. From left to right are Bailey Frazier (Honorable Mention), Abi Harvey (All – District), Laney Cashion (Honorable
Mention), and Delaney Stevens (All – District).

The Moore County High School Raiderettes 2017 softball season came to an end with an extra-inning 9-7 loss to Community in Eagleville Wednesday. Community scored first in the opening inning on a double that scored one run, and then one more in the second inning with two out. The Raiderettes got on the scoreboard after Delaney Stevens led off the bottom of the second with a double and then scored on a triple by Harley Deaton. The Raiderettes took a 3-2 lead with an Emily Parks two-run homer after holding Community to a three-and out in the third inning. Community tied it the fourth but Amberlyn Holman’s run put Moore County back up 4-3 on a throwing error. The Lady Vikings exploded for three runs in the fifth following two Raiderettes errors but the Raiderettes matched that with three of their own as Abi Harvey, Parks and Laney Cashion scored in the bottom half of the inning. Community tied it 7-7 in the seventh, and then took a 9-7 lead in the eighth inning. Deaton led off the bottom of the eighth with another triple and then scored on a passed ball. Molly Raby reached first base but was then caught stealing by the Community catcher. Harvey pitched seven and a third innings, giving up 13 hits and striking out six, before turning the mound duties over to Cashion. The Raiderette defense had five errors. The Raiderettes went into the loser’s bracket after a 9-1 loss to Huntland on Monday. The Raiderettes came back with a pitcher’s duel on Tuesday, beating Eagleville 1-0. Harvey struck out ten in the shutout. The Raiderettes should return all but two starters in 2018, losing only Holman and Parks to graduation. Coach Kim Harvey should be able to count on Hayley Pomarico, Stevens, Faith Weddington and Karina Rode from the Class of 2018; juniors Bailey Frazier, Harvey and Cassie Smith, and sophomore Cashion, Deaton, Raby, Emily Eslick, Kallie Groce and Emily Steelman next spring.