Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Qualifying over for August’s general election

Posted on Thursday, April 30, 2020 at 8:53 am

By David Knox

The deadline has passed for qualifying for the Aug. 6 general election in Moore County and one race for Metro Council looks interesting.

District 4 sees four candidates for the three positions: incumbent Arvis Bobo and three challengers – Peggy Blackburn, Bradley Dye and Patrick Maynard. Maynard, a former councilman from District 2, was elected by the council April 20 to temporarily fill the vacancy created when Shawn Adams resigned.

District 1 has three candidates for the three spots, so barring some sort of unusual circumstances, incumbents Amy Cashion and Sunny Rae Moorehead are likely to be re-elected along with Shane Taylor. Incumbent Sandy Lewis did not attempt to qualify. In District 3, only incumbent Keith Moses filed. Moses seems likely to be elected and then the Metro Council will have to appoint two members to fill the remaining seats. Incumbents Gordon Millsaps and Houston Lindsey did not file to qualify.

Write-in votes are accepted, but there is a qualifying deadline for write-in candidates of June 17 at noon. If write-in candidates are not certified, votes for them will not be counted.

For assessor of property, office-holder Darin Harrison and Rhonda Sawyer are on the ballot.

For superintendent of roads, Shannon Cauble is the only candidate on the ballot.

For urban services district, William Noles is the only qualifier on the ballot.

Three school board positions will be filled and no incumbents filed to serve. One candidate in each district qualified and they seem likely to win. They are Greg Thompson (2nd District), Nathan Buchanan (4th) and Tanya Vann (5th).

Also on the ballot will be the races for State Senate and State House of Representatives. Democrat Chase Clemons and incumbent Republican Shane Reeves are running for State  Senate in District 14 while incumbent Republican Iris Rudder is running unopposed for Tennessee House of Representatives in District 39.