Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Polling places open until 7 p.m. today; County courthouse is not a voting location

Posted on Thursday, August 4, 2016 at 11:32 am

01-18-16 election 2016LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — Along with the state primary elections, there are a number of local offices up for grabs today.

Polls for today’s elections will be open from 8 a.m. until 7 p.m. in Moore County. The five district polling locations include:

—1st District: Masonic Lodge, 101 Main Street;

—2nd District: MCHS  Commons Area;

—3rd District: County Building, Lower Level;

—4th District: Moore County Public Library;

—5th District: Motlow College, Marcum Building Rm 105.

There are a total of 16 seats out of the Chamber’s 33 seats that are up for grabs in the Tennessee State Senate. Heading into the election, the Republican Party holds the majority (28-5), and that’s likely to remain the case even if Democrats double their numbers. These elected officials serve staggered, four-year terms, so every two years half of the state senate is up for election.

All 99 seats in the State Legislature are up for a vote. Going into the election, the Republican Party holds the majority in an almost 75-25 split. Most of the candidates running are incumbents, yet five incumbents are not seeking re-election: Jon Lundberg (R-District 1), Richard Womick (R-District 34), David Shepard (D-District 69), Billy Spivey (R-District 92) and Jamie Jenkins (R-District 94).

Nine candidates are up for a vote to serve in the U.S. House of Representatives for Tennessee, representing each of the districts in the state. Republicans hold the majority in a 7-2 split, with every incumbent running for re-election.

Heading into the 2016 election, the incumbents for the state’s nine congressional districts are Phil Roe (Dist. 1-R); John J. Duncan, Jr. (Dist. 2-R); Charles J. Fleischmann (Dist. 3-R); Scott DesJarlais (Dist. 4-R); Jim Cooper (Dist. 5-D); Diane Black (Dist. 6-R); Marsha Blackburn (Dist. 7-R); Stephen Lee Fincher (Dist. 8-R); and Steve Cohen (Dist. 9-D).

Moore County is in District 4, where DesJarlais is being challenged by Yomi Faparusi, Erran Persley and Grant Starrett. On the Democrat side, Steven Reynolds is running unopposed in the primary.

Ten seats on Tennessee’s state-level courts are up for retention elections in this week’s election. This means that voters are asked whether an incumbent judge should remain in office for another term or be replaced.

Tennessee’s judicial selection process is unique in that some judges are appointed based on merit while others are chosen through elections. These races aren’t staggered like other government positions, so the makeup of the state judiciary could completely change in a given election year.

Follow us on Twitter: @TheMooreCoNews