Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Nurse Pinning held at Motlow

Posted on Wednesday, May 23, 2012 at 11:17 am

The Nursing Program at Motlow College recently pinned 71 students who successfully completed requirements to participate in Motlow’s graduation.

The ritual of pinning a nurse is a longstanding tradition held at the conclusion of one’s education. The pin itself is designed to signify the school the nurse attended. The actual act of pinning is done by a friend, relative or mentor, chosen by the student.

The pinning ceremony is steeped in tradition. In honor of the woman revered as the founder of modern nursing, the students dress in traditional white nursing uniforms, recite the “Florence Nightingale Pledge” and participate in the symbolic lighting of each student’s lamp. Nightingale is known as the ‘lady with the lamp’ because she saved thousands of lives walking the halls of the battlefield hospital with a lamp to check on the soldiers. As a tribute to her dedication, the lamp icon, pledge and lighting of the lamp are typically part of the pinning ceremony.

Four individual nursing student awards will be presented during the ceremony. The recognitions are: Outstanding Academic Award, Outstanding Contribution to the Class, Outstanding Clinical Award LPN and Outstanding Clinical Award Generic. On Saturday, students who have met all requirements will graduate with an associate of applied science degree in nursing and will be eligible to sit for their NCLEX-RN exam to become a registered nurse.

Motlow students in the nursing program, who are candidates for graduation include: Laura Wright of Alexandria, Nkechi Nnadi of Antioch; Toni Brandt and Jeffery Woodside of Dowelltown; Shannon Hammons of Doyle; Shelby Higginbotham of Estill Springs; Allison McGehee and Sasha Trott of Fayetteville; Andrea Merrell of Flintville; Elizabeth Fulmer of Huntland; Bridget Hudson of La Vergne; Judith Gann of Lebanon; Evelyn Endsley of Lewisburg; Thomas Prince of Lynchburg; Paula Bentley, Jessica Craig, Kenneth Ducker, Dora Haney-Snider, Rafik Meshreki, Susan Moss, Tiffany Spry and Tod Vandenbossche of Manchester; Natosha Denton and Courtney Austin-Lorance of McMinnville; Amber Northcutt of Morrison, Christy Crips and Kevin Summar of Mount Juliet; Brian Brown, Susan Farmer, Erin Fisher, Kara Fisher, Margaret Freeman, Jennifer Hodges, Kristin Jackson, Jennifer Klindt, Celia Meyer, Patrick Pawlowski, Jennifer Powell, Maria Ray, Sherri Reid, Kattie Stevens, Michael Tatum, Kimberley Washam and Ashley Wiseman of Murfreesboro; Christina Ayotte, Eric Biren and Benjamin Schneider of Nashville; Julie Brawner of Nolensville; Elisha Locke of Rock Island; Tammy Cawthron, Nicole LovVorn and Nikki Marion of Shelbyville; Lawrence Fry and Bradley Mullinax of Smithville; Betty Churchill, Jeffrey Davenport, Ashley Fleming, Chelsey Henley, Lashone McCoy and Wendy McHugh of Smyrna; Toni Jagnandan of Sparta, Melissa Lee of Spencer, Abby Gonzales, Rebecca Jones and Tracy Zawacki of Tullahoma; Lisa Adams of Unionville; Samantha McCullough of Wartrace; and Kara Acklen, Anastasia Anderson, Kyle Stich and Laura Truslow of Winchester.