Moore County News

Follow Us On:

March 1 primaries kick off election year; Early voting begins Feb. 10

Posted on Monday, January 18, 2016 at 1:24 pm

01-18-16 vote 001LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — Presidential Preference Primaries on March 1 will get the 2016 election season underway here in Tennessee. Early voting for the March 1 primary begins on Feb. 10.

But perhaps the most important date quickly approaching the Feb. 1 deadline to register to vote in the presidential primaries.

In Moore County, the Super Tuesday ballot will not include any local elections, but it will include one key referendum. On the ballot is the issue of a Wheel Tax in Moore County. Voters will be able to decide whether or not they want the tax, which is expected to be $50.

The money from the Wheel Tax could help offset some of the property tax increase that would be needed for the school renovations.

Voters will not have the chance to voice their opinion on the school renovation project until the August election due to the school referendum not making it through the state legislature process in time to get it on the March ballot.

According to newly appointed administrator of elections James Sanders, voters in this year’s Democratic primary will have the opportunity to choose between three candidates, while voters in the Republican primary will have 14 candidates from which to select. In addition, on the March 1 ballot will be several delegates on the Republican side.

Later this year, on Aug. 4, several state primaries will be held, including those for U.S. representative, a seat currently held by Congressman Scott DesJarlais. Primaries will also include seats currently held by Sen. Jim Tracy and Reps. Pat Marsh and Bill Spivey.

On Nov. 8, Moore County voters will return to their precincts again. Headlining the ballot this time will be the winners of the presidential primaries. Also on this ballot will be the winners from the August primaries — U.S. representative and Tennessee senator and representatives.

Voters are reminded that a federal or state issued photo identification is now required to vote, unless an exception applies. To learn more about the new law and its exceptions, call the election commission at (931) 433-6220 or visitor

Additionally, voters are reminded that if their precinct is inaccessible to you for reason of age or disability, you may vote at the election commission; however, to vote under these provisions of the law, you must write the administrator of elections requesting an affidavit for an inaccessible polling place. Those affidavits must be received in the election office no later than Feb. 20.

Federal positions

At the federal level, Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Jim Gilmore, Lindsey O. Graham, Mike Huckabee, John Kasich, George Pataki, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum and Donald Trump will all be listed on the Republican presidential primary ballot.

Hillary Clinton, Martin O’Malley and Bernie Sanders are the Democratic presidential candidates.

Remember, the last day to register to vote for the election is Monday, Feb. 1.

Early voting for the county primary elections begins Wednesday, Feb. 10 and ends on Tuesday, Feb. 23.