Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Just 6 qualifiers thus far for general election

Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 11:43 am

By David Knox

Only six candidates have returned the required paperwork thus far for the Moore County general election, which includes races for Metro Council seats, which will be Thursday, Aug. 6. Nineteen individuals picked up petitions, but just the six have qualified so far as of Monday afternoon, according to Election Administrator James Sanders.

Deadline to file is two weeks away.

Council spots will be contested in districts 1, 3 and 4. Currently serving in District 1 are Sandy Lewis, Sunny Rae Moorehead and Amy Cashion. Serving in District 3 are Gordon Millsaps, Houston Lindsey and Keith Moses. Serving in District 4 are David Boyce, Arvis Bobo and Shawn Adams. At Monday night’s council meeting, Adams’ resignation was announced.

School board members will be elected from districts 2, 4 and 5. Current school board members from those districts are Chris Roberts (District 2), Ronnie Smith (4) and Lorrie McKenzie (5).

Also on the ballot will be assessor of property, road superintendent and urban service district.

Those qualified so far are: Christopher P. Bateman (for Superintendent of Roads), Peggy S. Blackburn (for 4th District Metro Council); Nathan E. Buchanan (4th District Metro Council); incumbent Wayne Darin Harrison (Assessor of Property); Greg A. Thompson (2nd District School Board) and Tanya S. Vann (5th District School Board).

You must have signatures of at least 25 registered voters on a petition to file to run, although Sanders said he prefers 40-50 to make sure the names are good, registered voters.

Deadline to file to run in the general election is noon on Thursday, April 2.