Moore County News

Follow Us On:

How will redistricting plan affect Moore County?

Posted on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 6:04 pm

A Republican-authored state redistricting plan passed both the State House and Senate last week and is set to be signed into law by Republican Governor Bill Haslam in the coming weeks. The plans seeks to redistrict 99 State House seats, 33 State Senate seats and nine congressional districts.

So what will this mean for Moore County?

In the State House of Representatives, Moore County currently exists in the 39th District and is represented by Winchester business man David Alexander, who represents Moore, Franklin and parts of Lincoln County.
The proposed redistricting would remove Lincoln County from the mix and add Marion County to the 39th District. Lincoln and Bedford counties would then compile the 82nd District.

In the State Senate, Moore County currently exists in District 16, which includes Moore, Bedford and parts of Rutherford County and is represented by Shelbyville businessman Jim Tracy.
The proposed redistricting would move Moore County from District 16 to District 14, which would include Moore, Bedford parts of Rutherford County as well as Marshall and Lincoln counties.
In the U.S. Congress, Moore County exists in the 4th Congressional District and is represented by Rep. Scott DeJarlais.

Moore County would remain in the Fourth District along with seven other middle Tennessee counties: Rutherford, Bedford, part of Maury, Marshall, and Lincoln.

The 2010 census revealed that three of Tennessee’s districts deviated from their ideal population of 705,123 by more than 80,000 people. Federal law requires that congressional districts be exactly equal in population.
Under the proposal, all three east Tennessee districts would be entirely in east Tennessee and both west Tennessee districts would be entirely in the West Grand Division.

To meet the strict zero deviation population mandates set down by federal courts, the plan splits just eight counties, two fewer than the 10 counties split in the map approved in 2002.

Counties divided between two districts include: Shelby, Benton, Van Buren, Maury, Cheatham, Campbell, Bradley, and Jefferson. Four of those eight divided counties are predominantly located in one district, with less than two precincts separated into an adjacent district.

The Senate plan adds Lincoln and Marshall counties to the fourteenth district, to which Moore County belongs.
Democrats have complained that the GOP controlled Legislature is trying to give Republican candidates an edge with the proposed redistricting. A release from Republican Governor Bill Haslam said the “proposed map would correct decades of illogical gerrymandering by Democratic-led legislatures and better recognize Tennessee’s regional distinctions.”

The proposed map was co-create by House Speaker Beth Harwell (R-Nashville).

State Senator Jim Tracy stated last week that he would not run for Congress in 2012 and instead would seek re-election in the new 14th District State Senate seat.

Congressman DesJarlais said, “While I am disappointed that I’ll be losing many of my current constituents next year, I look forward to having the opportunity to make new friends who believe in my fight for more jobs, less spending and smaller government.”

State Representative Alexander did not issue a public statement.