Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Ferrell, Harrison retain positions; Huffer narrowly misses Council seat

Posted on Thursday, August 4, 2016 at 9:15 pm


Property Assessor Darin Harrison

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — Darin Harrison and Milton Ferrell each held on to their respective positions, and all three of the incumbent candidates in the 4th District of the Metropolitan Lynchburg/Moore County Council retained their seats during Thursday’s State Primary and County General election.

Harrison defeated Sunny Rae Moorehead 824-623 to retain his position as the county’s Property Assessor, a post he was first elected to in 2012.

In a tight race for the county’s Road Superintendent position, Ferrell held on to turn back Chris Bateman by a mere 30 votes. Ferrell carried districts 1, 2 and 3 and won 739-709. Bateman carried District 4 and easily carried District 5.


Road Superintendent Milton Ferrell

In what turned out to be the closest election on Thursday, Shawn Adams, Arvis Bobo and David Boyce hung on to their Metro Council seats. All three seats in the 4th District were up for grabs. While Bobo (219) and Boyce (200) comfortably won, Adams (184) narrowly turned back 19-year-old Andy Huffer (178), who fell just a handful of votes shy of becoming the Council’s youngest member.

In the vote for the vacant 2nd District School Board seat, Chris Roberts won the position 168-94 over Rachel Bowles-Hill. Ronnie Smith (4th Dist.) and Lorrie McKenzie (5th Dist.) retain their seats after running unopposed.

County voters said ‘no’ to the School Tax Referendum, voting 841-501 against a non-binding referendum asking if they would support a 37-cent property tax increase that would go toward refurbishing and repairing the Moore County High School and Moore County Middle School campus.

For more on Thursday’s election, including candidate’s reactions and a district-by-district breakdown of the voting, see the Aug.11 edition of the Moore County News.

Follow us on Twitter: @TheMooreCoNews