Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Elk River District Adult Volunteer Leader and Eagle Scouts Recognized

Posted on Monday, April 2, 2012 at 1:52 pm

The Elk River District Boy Scouts of America held their annual Adult Volunteer Leader and Eagle Scout Recognition Banquet recently at the First United Methodist Church in Tullahoma.  The district is composed of Moore, Bedford, Coffee, and Franklin counties.

The district has 28 Cub Scout units, 20 Boy Scout units, four Venturing units, and five Exploring units.  A total of 1,428 youths are served.  There are 490 registered volunteers in the district.

The District Chairman Dr. John Petty served as the master of ceremonies for the awards banquet and presentation of colors was made by Jonathan Dobbs, Tristan Pykiet, and Anders Vanattia of Boy Scout Troop 323 of Lynchburg. The district chaplain Greg Gressel, led the guests in the invocation.  Deborah Brown Events catered the meal.

Roundtable Awards were presented by Doug Ratliff, District Commissioner, and Anne Wonder, Cub Scout Roundtable Commissioner.

These awards are given to leaders for the participation and attendance at monthly meetings. Cub Scout units 306, 332, 390, 476 received the bronze award, units 304, 314, and 315 received the gold award, and units 142, 245, 358, and 360 received the silver award.  The Boy Scout units receiving the bronze award were 158, 314, and 699.  Those receiving the silver award were 142, 184, 185, 303, 323, 332, 370, 391, and 402.

Tony Harrison, District Advancement Chair presented the 2011 Eagle Scouts and their projects.  Together the 21 Eagle Scouts spent 3,909 man hours and approximately $23,400 in their communities.  Jackson Petty, representing the 2011 Eagle Scouts, gave a speech about his scouting experiences.

The Scouter Veteran Awards were presented by Jim Reed, District Program Chairman.  Tony Harrison, Regina Harrison, Josh Harrison, and Tim Harrison received the 15-year veteran award.  Franklin Smith received the 40-year veteran award, Michael Danielson received the 45-year veteran award, George Jensen received the 50 year veteran award, and Jim Reed received the 60 year veteran award.

Mike Walton, who serves as a commissioner, spoke about “Scouting Across the Nation”.  His presentation emphasized the four national scout bases, Northern Tier in Minnesota, SeaBase in Florida, Philmont in New Mexico, and The Summit in West Virginia.

The Middle Tennessee Council Long Rifle Awards for outstanding service to youth were presented by Richard Dix, the Long Rifle Committee chairman, David Woodfin, Anne Wonder, Tom Gillard, and Susan Russell.  This year’s recipients are Bob Janosek, Elaine Polsanka, Rebecca Eaton, and Bob Forde.

The banquet was closed by the Scoutmaster of Troop 323 in Lynchburg, Mike Vanattia, who gave the “Scoutmaster’s Minute”.  If you are interested in becoming a scout or a scout leader, please contact the Middle Tennessee Council office at (800) 899-7268.

Social Media Posts from Local Businesses