Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Early voting ends Saturday

Posted on Monday, July 23, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Early voting for the August 2 election ends this Saturday in Moore County. The election will take place on August 2.

The Moore County Election Commission office is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Monday, through Friday and 8 a.m. to noon on Saturday.

Three candidates qualified for the Assessor of Property office including Wayne Darin Harrison, Sandy Thomas Lewis and Shelia Parks Moore. Wayne Harrison the incumbent is retiring and not seeking re-election.

Two candidates qualified for County Road Superintendent including the incumbent, Milton Ferrell and new candidate Chris Bateman.

The incumbents in all three open Metro School Board members seats were the sole qualifiers. This included Richard Riddle from the second district, Ronnie Smith from the fourth district and Lori McKenzie from the fifth district.

Also Metro Council seats in the First District (Coleman March) and Fourth District (David Boyce, Linda Wolaver) are running unopposed.

Local voters will also cast ballots for U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, State Senate and State House of Representatives in the Republican and Democratic Primary Election.•