Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Coming this fall: Jack Daniel’s rolls out Master Distiller No. 1 bottle

Posted on Sunday, October 13, 2013 at 9:00 am

10-08-13 Jack_Daniel's_Master_Distiller_Bottle PREVIEW

One-of-a-Kind Master Distiller Collection to honor craftsmen who’ve made Iconic Tennessee Whiskey (Brown-Forman Photo)

The Jack Daniel Distillery announced today that its limited, one-of-a-kind Master Distiller #1 bottle honoring the company’s founder will be available nationwide this fall at retail locations across the United States.

Previously available at only duty-free shops and in Tennessee, the 86-proof, 750ml bottles are currently hitting shelves around the country with a suggested retail price of $24.99.

The Master Distiller No. 1 package — in tribute to the distillery’s founder and first distiller, Jasper Newton “Jack” Daniel” — is the first in a new limited edition series that will recognize the seven men who have served in the position since the distillery began making whiskey nearly 150 years ago.

The collection comes in a gift box bearing the likeness of the master distiller being honored, and each bottle will be sequentially numbered on the back label with the chronological ranking of the designated individual being recognized prominently on the front label. In addition, each package will include a QR Code where consumers can download a video tribute for each distiller.

“Throughout the history of Jack Daniel’s there have only been seven master distillers,” said Phil Epps, Group Brand Director for Jack Daniel’s. “They have all been dedicated to the craft of good whiskey making and following Mr. Jack’s guiding words of ‘every day we make it, we’ll make it the best we can.’

“We can’t think of a better way to honor them than with this collectible expression of the brand that not only contains great Tennessee whiskey, but the stories behind the men who’ve made Jack Daniel’s what it is today.”

The Jack Daniel’s Master Distillers

Jack Daniel           1866 – 1911

Jess Motlow          1911 – 1941

Lem Tolley           1941 – 1964

Jess Gamble          1964 – 1966

Frank Bobo          1966 – 1988

Jimmy Bedford    1988 – 2008

Jeff Arnett             2008 – present