Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Carlee Smith crowned 2013 Miss Lynchburg

Posted on Friday, February 8, 2013 at 12:37 pm

2013 Miss Lynchburg Carlee Smith. (Photo by Jeff Reed/

Carlee Layne Smith was crowned 2013 Miss Lynchburg late Saturday night at the Lynchburg Elementary School auditorium, taking over the crown from 2012 winner Shelby Deaton. Smith won the annual pageant after being chosen from 25 entries in the 10th- 12th-grade category. Lynsey LeaAnn Riddle was the first runner up.

The second runner up was Kaitlyn Dangerfield and the third runner up was Taylor Nicole Trail.

In all, there were 130 contestants in six different categories in the event that has been a Lynchburg tradition since 1980. Divisions ranged from Wee Miss up to Miss Lynchburg.

Winning the Baby Miss division was Layla Bea Harris. First runner up was Kaycee Leigh Young. The second runner up was Avanley Reign Metcalf, and the third runner up was Mya Cracelynn Wilburn.

The winner in the Wee Miss division — age 3 to kindergarten — was Brooklyn Danay Hampton, with Karli LeAnn McLaughlin the first runner up. The second runner up was Kylee BreAnn Holt and the third runner up was Emma Grace Luna.

In the Little Miss division — 1-3 grade — Allison Blair Byrom was the winner. First runner up was Ruby Jimenez; second runner up was Keira Demae Baker; and third runner up was Greenlee Ward.

Adriana Isabel Castillo was crowned the Young Miss winner in the division for grades 4-6. Taylor Layne Kirby earned first runner up honors, with Hannah Leann Roberts the second runner up. The third runner up Cassidy Breann Smith.

Emily Powell took top honors in the Junior Miss division — 7-9 grades. The first runner up was Ashley Robinson, with Caitlin Breanna Steelman the second runner up and Savannah Stevens was the third runner up.

The annual Miss Lynchburg Pageant is a fundraiser for the Moore County School senior class, who typically use the money earned to help fund its senior trip.

Mike Walker was the Master of Ceremonies for the evening and entertainment was provided by Sharp Dressed Men, which included Dalton Barrier, Devan Bean, J.P. Evans, Joshua Prater, Brett Thomas, Ben Harvey, Casey McGee, Colt Wells, Johnny Robinson, Brady Goodwin, Dakota Bateman, Antonio Arguelles, Leo Moore and Zach Ray.

Sponsors included Woodard’s Market, Moore County Bank, Lynchburg Nursing Center, Moore County Farm Bureau, Lynchburg Drug Store, Lynchburg Veterinary Hospital, Smith’s Apple Orchard, Star-Brite Daycare and Preschool, Tim’s Flies and Lies, Erica’s Hair Company, B & K Wholesale, Jack Daniel’s Visitor Center, Harlan’s Flowers and Pearls & Pinstripes.

For more photos see the Feb. 14 print edition of The Moore County News(Click here to subscribe to the print or online edition of The Moore County News)

For additional photos go online to

Social Media Posts from Local Businesses