Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Candidates announced for County General elections

Posted on Thursday, May 12, 2016 at 10:30 am

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — With the August 4 State Primary and County General elections less than three months away, candidates on the local front have started their campaigning.

There are only a handful of local offices up for grabs this election year — six total, two of which are uncontested.

Three school board positions are on the ballot, the 2nd, 4th and 5th districts. Ronnie Smith is running unopposed in the 4th District, while Lorrie McKenzie is running unopposed in the 5th District. Both are current school board members.

Both Chris Roberts and Rachel Bowles Hill submitted their qualifying papers and will vie for the position in the 2nd District. Current school board member Richard Riddle is not running for re-election, after serving two terms.

On the Metro Moore County Council, two districts — 1st and 4th — have contested positions. Amy Rhoton Cashion and Sandy Thomas Lewis are running for a seat in the 1st District.

In the 4th District, four candidates — Shawn Adams, Arvis Bobo, David Boyce and Andy Huffer — are seeking election to fill three seats.

Two other offices, Moore County Road Superintendent and Moore County Assessor of Property, are being contested as well.

In the Road Superintendent race, incumbent Milton Ferrell is being challenged by Chris Bateman.

In the Assessor of Property race, incumbent Darin Harrison is being challenged by Sunny Rae Moorehead.

Also on the August 4 ballot is a Property Tax Resolution. In December, the Metropolitan Moore County Council voted to tentatively approve a resolution that would place a referendum regarding a proposed $13 million school renovation on the March 2016 Presidential Preference Primary and County Primary voting ballot.

The resolution did not make it on the March ballot and thus was pushed back to August. The Property Tax Resolution is asking if county residents would be in favor of a 37 cent property tax increase to fund the needed upgrades and renovations at the Moore County High School and Middle School campus.

With the proposed 37 cent property tax increase, a parcel valued at $100,000 (carrying an assessed value of $25,000) would have an annual tax increase of $92.50. Property valued at $200,000 would see an annual tax increase of $185 and so on.

Approximately 50 percent of the landowners in the county have property valued in the $10,000 to $100,000 range, while, according to county records, there are 18 property owners in the county with property valued at $1 million or more.

The Property Tax Resolution will give county voters an opportunity to voice their opinion on the issue.

Moore County voters have a number of other decisions to make this year as well.

They include:

• State House of Representatives 39th District (Democratic Party)—Tony Peoples, Nancy Silvertooth and Kathleen Swift-Lawson;

• State House of Representatives 39th District (Republican Party)—David Alexander and Clyde Benson;

• State Senate 14th District (Republican Party)—Steve Lane, Matt Randolph and Jim Tracy;

• State Senate 14th District (Democratic Party)—Gayle Jordan, unopposed;

• US House of Representatives (Republican)—Scott DesJarlais, Yomi “Fapas” Faparusi, Erran Persley and Grant Starrett;

• US House of Representatives (Democratic)—Steven Reynolds, unopposed;

• Court of Criminal Appeals—Timothy L. Easter and Robert L. Holloway, Jr.