Moore County News

Follow Us On:

Busha, Haddon among Winchester winners

Posted on Tuesday, July 23, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Tim Busha, of Boaz, Ala., outran fellow front row starter Josh Johnson, of Winchester, to claim Saturday’s Super Late Model feature at Winchester Speedway. Elora’s David Brannon finished third after starting sixth and Corey Posey, of Petersburg, rallied from a 14th starting spot to finish fourth. Shannon Davis, of Estill Springs, completed the top five.

Mark Haddon won the Two-barrel Late Model feature Saturday night at Winchester Speedway. (File Photo)

Mark Haddon won the Two-barrel Late Model feature Saturday night at Winchester Speedway. (File Photo)

Matthew Summers, Steve Vann, Phillip Kilpatrick, Alan Holmes and Corey Holmes rounded out the top 10 in the 16-car field.

In the Two-barrel Late Model feature, Mark Haddon, of Estill Springs, finished first ahead of Flintville natives Forrest Gifford and Randy Gifford. Henry Hanger, of Winchester, was fourth, with Fayetteville’s Daniel Miller, fifth among 20 entries.

Hazel Green, Ala., driver Dewayne Hicks topped John Perry and Dylan Powers, both of Decherd, to win the Modified Stock main event. Cowan’s Chris Morris and Charles Blackwell, of Estill Springs, were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Lynchburg’s Josh Bondurant started fifth in the Street Stock feature and rallied to finish second. He was one spot short of a win, as Cole Smartt, of Flintville, earned the victory after starting from the pole. Petersburg’s Jimmy Cree was third ahead of Donnie Hicks and Matthew Renner.

Decherd’s John Perry won the Mini Stock feature. Doug Waldrep, Justin Sells, Ralph Arnold and Alan Betts completed the top five.

Shelbyville drivers Jeff Smith and Mike Reed were first and second, respectively, in the Vintage Dwarf race. Matt Reed, Devin Casteel and Jody Brannon crossed the finish line third through fifth.

Freddie Prosser Jr., also of Shelbyville, claimed first in the Mod Lites division, while Josey Seals was second and Alex Pitts was third. Troy Taylor and Jerry Hagewood wrapped up the top five.