Moore County News

Follow Us On:

August ballot set as early voting begins Friday

Posted on Thursday, July 14, 2016 at 11:59 am

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — Early voting begins July 15 and continues through July 30 for the Aug. 4 county general and state primary elections.

A sample ballot appears on Page 12 of this week’s edition of The News.

On the county general election ballot will be the assessor of property, a seat currently held by Darrin Harrison and the Road Superintendent, a position held currently by Milton Ferrell.

Sunny Rae Moorehead is challenging Harrison for the Assessor of Property position, while Chris Bateman is challenging Ferrell for the Road Superintendent position.

Also on the general election ballot are three county school board seats. Two are unopposed. Ronnie Smith is running unopposed in the 4th District and Lorrie McKenzie is running unopposed in the 5th District. Chris Roberts and Rachel Bowles-Hill are running for the School Board Member seat in the 2nd District.

Four candidates are seeking the three seats available on the Metropolitan Lynchburg/Moore County Council’s 4th District. Shawn Adams, Arvis Bobo, David Boyce and Andy Huffer are running. Voters will have a chance to select three of the four.

On the Metropolitan Council, 1st District, Sandy Thomas Lewis and Amy Rhoton Cashion are running unchallenged as voters will be voting to fill two seats.

State primaries on the ballot include those for U.S. representative, a seat currently held by Congressman Scott DesJarlais, as well as the state legislative seat held by Sen. Jim Tracy.

Challenging DesJarlais in the Republican primary for District 4 are Yomi (Fapas) Faparusi, Erran Persley, and Grant Starrett. In the Democratic primary for that seat, Steven Reynolds is on the ballot.

Opposing Tracy on the Republican primary for the District 14 state senate seat are Steve Lane and Matt Randolph. In the Democratic primary, Gayle Jordan is on the ballot.

In District 39, David Alexander is being challenged by Clyde Benson on the Republican side, while Tony Peoples, Nancy Silvertooth and Kathleen Swift-Lawson are battling in the Democrat primary.

The winners of the Aug. 4 primary will set one Republican against one Democrat and a few independent candidates. However, whichever Republican wins the primary will be heavily favored in one of the reddest districts in the state during the Nov. 8 general election.

A number of judicial retention questions are on the ballot as well, including Jeffrey Bivins, Holly Kirby, Roger Page, Kenny Armstrong, Brandon Gibson, Arnold Goldin, Robert Montgomery Jr., Timothy Easter, Robert Holloway Jr., and Ross Dyer.

Early voting hours at the Moore County Election Commission are from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 9 a.m. until noon on Saturday. The Election Commission office is located in the County Building just off the square.

Voters are reminded that they are required to have a current photo identification issued by the federal or state government when voting in person.

Follow us on Twitter: @TheMooreCoNews